We had a great four night stay during early November at Rick’s Aspenwood Condo property in Lutsen, MN!  

J Rhoades Consulting

We had a great four night stay during early November at Rick’s Aspenwood Condo property in Lutsen, MN! All the check-in instructions for our stay were promptly sent prior to our arrival. All the information was well organized, clear and understandable. Self check-in to the property was a breeze. We found the property to be very clean, as neat as a pin, spacious and comfortable. The wifi internet was excellent and easily supported high resolution Netflix video streaming. The kitchen was very well equipped with every sort of appliance and utinsil needed. We appreciated the large dual sink vanity in the master bedroom. The king bed in the master bedroom was very comfy and both my wife and I slept very well. The large jacuzzi spa in the master bedroom was really a nice touch–very relaxing to take a hot bath after a long day of hiking. Overall, we loved the property, we had a great stay and we hope to return another time.
Thank you

Stayed: August , 2017  Submitted: August 07, 2017
Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Age 55+, Families with teenagers, Pet owners, Adventure seekers, Romantic getaway, People with disabilities, Tourists without a car

We had a wonderful time last summer staying at this home in Tofte.  

Anonymous

We had a wonderful time last summer staying at this home in Tofte. We enjoyed 3 nights, had Lake Superior right behind us. Despite a slight mishap at the end, Rick was very kind and understanding – no issues. We plan to stay again!

Stayed: August , 2017  Submitted: August 07, 2017
Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Age 55+, Families with teenagers, Pet owners, Adventure seekers, Romantic getaway, People with disabilities, Tourists without a car

Great place to stay.  

Anonymous

“Description: Great place to stay. Good fishing. Super views with great sunrises.”

Stayed: August , 2017  Submitted: August 07, 2017
Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Age 55+, Families with teenagers, Pet owners, Adventure seekers, Romantic getaway, People with disabilities, Tourists without a car

A stay at Loon Lodge is a perfect vacation.  

Peggy

“A stay at Loon Lodge is a perfect vacation. Our family has stayed there many times and we have happy, fun memories to cherish. The home is comfortable and the beach is perfect. Thank you Rick for making your home available to rent. We love it!”

Stayed: August , 2017  Submitted: August 01, 2017
Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Age 55+, Families with teenagers, Pet owners, Adventure seekers, Romantic getaway, People with disabilities, Tourists without a car

We have rented Loon Lodge the last 4 summers  

Peggy

“We have rented Loon Lodge the last 4 summers and we love it! Thank you Rick!”

Stayed: July , 2017  Submitted: July 25, 2017
Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Age 55+, Families with teenagers, Pet owners, Adventure seekers, Romantic getaway, People with disabilities, Tourists without a car

Wonderful place to stay!  

DeAnn

“Wonderful place to stay! Excellent spot on the lake. Very clean with everything you need. Hope to return again next year!”

Stayed: June , 2017  Submitted: June 12, 2017
Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Age 55+, Families with teenagers, Pet owners, Adventure seekers, Romantic getaway, People with disabilities, Tourists without a car

Our stay at Loon Lodge was fabulous as always!  

Lynette

“Our stay at Loon Lodge was fabulous as always! We had a wonderful time and caught fish. The house has all the amenities and is perfect for relaxing after time on the lake.”

Stayed: May , 2017  Submitted: May 27, 2017
Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Age 55+, Families with teenagers, Pet owners, Adventure seekers, Romantic getaway, People with disabilities, Tourists without a car

We had a great time at loon lodge  

Jeffrey

“We had a great time at loon lodge. The accommodations were great in the house was nice and clean when we got there. Fishing was slow due to a cold front in strong winds , but we were able to get five walleyes , nineteen northern , and one 37″ musky which was released . Everything in the house work perfectly and pots and pans and towels and washcloths were all supplied .I would highly recommend visiting Loon lodge ,you will have a great time if you do thanks for everything .”

Stayed: May , 2017  Submitted: May 24, 2017
Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Age 55+, Families with teenagers, Pet owners, Adventure seekers, Romantic getaway, People with disabilities, Tourists without a car

Great spring break adventure with kids!  

L

“Great spring break adventure with kids! Enjoyed playing in the backyard/on the beach. Bonfires outside were awesome-plenty of firewood available. Also a wood-burning stove we used inside that was an added bonus. Played board games & did some baking/cooking in the well-stocked kitchen. Everything was very clean. Went into town and swam at Chase on the Lake ($5/person for non-paying guests in off-season) & visited the shops. Leech Lake view was breathtaking. Will be back next year for sure!”

Stayed: April , 2017  Submitted: April 05, 2017
Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Age 55+, Families with teenagers, Pet owners, Adventure seekers, Romantic getaway, People with disabilities, Tourists without a car

As usual facility was perfect for our ice fishing adventure  

Dale

“As usual facility was perfect for our ice fishing adventure. Thanks for the new memory foam beds.”

Stayed: March , 2017  Submitted: March 17, 2017
Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Age 55+, Families with teenagers, Pet owners, Adventure seekers, Romantic getaway, People with disabilities, Tourists without a car

Great house and awesome location in Leech Lake.  

Tim

“Great house and awesome location in Leech Lake. Rick was quick to call and confirm the reservation and the place was exactly as described on the site. Our group loved having the garage and unfinished basement for our ice fishing gear. We’ll be back for sure!”

Stayed: March , 2017  Submitted: March 02, 2017
Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Age 55+, Families with teenagers, Pet owners, Adventure seekers, Romantic getaway, People with disabilities, Tourists without a car

Beautiful place Beautiful clean and well equipped cabin.  

Wayne

“Beautiful place Beautiful clean and well equipped cabin. Enjoyed the great view of leech lake. Very quiet and relaxing place on dead end road. Caught fish right there in traders bay. Wood burning stove to sit by and warm up after a day of ice fishing was great. Garage was great for parking atv’s and portable fish houses. Its about 15 to 20 minutes away from grocery store ,restaurants, and casino. We will definitely be back.”

Stayed: February , 2017  Submitted: February 15, 2017
Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Age 55+, Families with teenagers, Pet owners, Adventure seekers, Romantic getaway, People with disabilities, Tourists without a car

We were impressed with its quality and view.  

Andy

“We were impressed with its quality and view. The sunrise through the kitchen window each morning was great. The garage was great for storing our ice fishing gear. It had nice log furniture also. We will stay again!”

Stayed: February , 2017  Submitted: February 09, 2017
Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Age 55+, Families with teenagers, Pet owners, Adventure seekers, Romantic getaway, People with disabilities, Tourists without a car

Great weekend, beautiful place.  

Mitchell

” Great weekend, beautiful place. The only issue was I had trouble lighting the fireplace, otherwise perfect place, we will be booking a summer trip”

Stayed: February , 2017  Submitted: February 01, 2017
Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Age 55+, Families with teenagers, Pet owners, Adventure seekers, Romantic getaway, People with disabilities, Tourists without a car

Another great year at Loon Lodge  

Reece

“Another great year at Loon Lodge. This was our second year using the the cabin for our hunting trip, and we couldn’t ask for a better setup. This cabin is very cozy for late fall and winter months. There is nothing better than coming back after a cold day of hunting, fishing or whatever and sitting up in the cabin with a nice fire. We really appreciated the way that Rick has everything set up for ease of use. I didn’t even unpack half of the stuff I brought up since it is already there for you in the cabin. I would highly recommend a trip to Loon Lodge regardless of the time of year. You will not leave disappointed. Thanks for helping to make our hunting season memorable. Reece, Randy and Ed.”

Stayed: November , 2016  Submitted: November 17, 2016
Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Age 55+, Families with teenagers, Pet owners, Adventure seekers, Romantic getaway, People with disabilities, Tourists without a car

Really enjoyed the late fall at Loon Lodge on Leech Lake!  

John

“Really enjoyed the late fall at Loon Lodge on Leech Lake! Leaves still beautiful and weather was nice enough to sit on the deck and read a book. while our trip was not during the “prime” season, it was so relaxing- felt like we had the lake all to our selves! The loons are still around and were patrolling the shallows right up near shore- never seen this before. It was a great break, thanks Rick!”

Stayed: October , 2016  Submitted: October 22, 2016
Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Age 55+, Families with teenagers, Pet owners, Adventure seekers, Romantic getaway, People with disabilities, Tourists without a car

Loved the house!  

jacque

“Loved the house! Perfect for 4 adults and two little ones! Clean and comfy!”

Stayed: October , 2016  Submitted: October 03, 2016
Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Age 55+, Families with teenagers, Pet owners, Adventure seekers, Romantic getaway, People with disabilities, Tourists without a car

Great space  

Mandi

“Great space. Loved that everything was easy to find, clean and furnished! Wonderful beach and lawn.”

Stayed: October , 2016  Submitted: October 03, 2016

Great home on the lake  

Connie

“Great home on the lake, nice private beach, clean home with lots of amenities. Quiet area and on a dead end road. Very nice, would stay again.”

Stayed: September , 2016  Submitted: September 03, 2016
Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Age 55+, Families with teenagers, Pet owners, Adventure seekers, Romantic getaway, People with disabilities, Tourists without a car

Can’t express how much my family loved staying at this cabin  

Kevin

“Can’t express how much my family loved staying at this cabin, what a wonderful place & great destination for a vacation. The cabin had everything we needed. Our kids enjoyed swimming, kayaking, paddle- boarding, camp fires, & especially the great fishing! I would highly recommend staying at Loon Lodge!”

Stayed: August , 2016  Submitted: August 30, 2016
Recommended for: Families with young children, Families with teenagers, Adventure seekers

We loved our vacation time at Loon Lodge  

Butch & Lauri

“We loved our vacation time at Loon Lodge. This is our second year vacationing at Loon Lodge and will be back again. We love the location, the beach is one of the best on Leech Lake. The lake home is clean, very well equipped with all the essentials. It is great to have a garage and a boat lift. Rick is wonderful to work with. Feel confident renting Loon Lodge. You will love it!! We have created many fantastic family memories at Loon Lodge and look forward to many more in the future.”

Stayed: August , 2016  Submitted: August 13, 2016
Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Age 55+, Families with teenagers, Pet owners, Adventure seekers, Romantic getaway, People with disabilities, Tourists without a car

Great view  

Bruce

“Great view. Spotless condition inside. Above average temps. No AC in unit but owner has ceiling fans and oscillating fans for use.”

Stayed: July , 2016  Submitted: July 25, 2016

Very kid friendly  

Melissa P.

“We have a 1 year old and a 2.5 year old and this was the perfect house for us. The beach was amazing! Very shallow for a long ways out with a sandy bottom and no weeds. Nice Sandy beach that our kids just loved and spent hours on each day. Our dog also enjoyed splashing around in the water. We are avid water skiers and Traders Bay was perfect. The house accommodated our family of 4 plus my parents perfectly. The house is exactly as Rick has described. We are already talking about coming back next year!”

Stayed: July , 2016  Submitted: July 10, 2016
Recommended for: Families with young children, Pet owners

Best Rental around  

JJB Rogers, MN

“I have been going to Loon Lodge with Work friends and neighbors for 6 years. We used to go to Lake of the Woods, but hate the resort fishing. We like to fish on our own plan. Loon Lodge allows us to stay on a world class fishing lake, in a fantastic cabin….on our own schedule. This place is convenient, clean and we catch a ton of fish right there in Traders Bay. Rick has always been great to work with and the rental experience is flawless and affordable. My group looks forward to this trip every year and this fantastic cabin is icing on the cake. We will keep coming back. Look no further. If you want Leech Lake, Loon Lodge is the place for you.”

Stayed: February , 2016  Submitted: July 06, 2016
Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Age 55+, Families with teenagers

Beautiful home on the water  

john k. oakhurst, ca

“I was thinking more cabin than home when I booked this but this is a very nice home on popular Leech Lake. Coming all the way from California, I was totally unfamiliar with what to expect. This seems to be the place for serious walleye fishing but the area also has attractions for everyone else not so interested in fishing. My wife appreciated the modern amenities as opposed to the rustic retro experience I was anticipating, We thoroughly enjoyed our stay even though we experienced the Mayfly outbreak (they don’t bite but certainly are plentiful) and some rainy windy Minnesota weather. My wife got her surrogate dog fix from Amber, the golden and a black and yellow lab a few doors down. All in all, a nice stay.”

Stayed: June , 2016  Submitted: June 21, 2016

Great Week  

Jeff O.

“We really enjoyed the home and the area. The place had everything we needed. Walker’s restaurants were so good that we didn’t eat in the cabin as much as we though that we wood. Very relaxing place.”

Stayed: June , 2016  Submitted: June 18, 2016
Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Age 55+, Families with teenagers

Wonderful place!  

Cynthia C.

“Just wanted to say thank-you for a wonderful stay. The cabin had everything and anything we could need during our stay and then some. Great location, great fishing….very relaxing. Just what we were looking for!”

Stayed: May , 2016  Submitted: May 11, 2016

Winter getaway  

Jeff F.
“Great place to stay for a winter getaway. Place is clean and comfortable. We love the fireplace.”
Stayed: January , 2016  Submitted: March 25, 2016
Recommended for: Families with teenagers

Relaxing winter weekend  

Jeff F.

“Another great weekend of ice fishing and relaxing with the kids. Cabin is always clean. Enjoy a fire and watching movies after a day on the ice.”

Stayed: February , 2016  Submitted: March 25, 2016
Recommended for: Families with teenagers

GREAT ICE FISHING WEEKEND WITH FRIENDS!!!!!!!!!  

Trever & Jayna

“4 of us friends stayed at the Loon Lodge Cabin for a long weekend ice fishing trip (01/28/2016 – 01/31/2016). We had an awesome time. The cabin had 3bdrms and 2 bathrooms which was more than enough space for the 4 of us. The cabin was well kept and clean and exceeded all of our expectations. Beds were very comfortable…even the twins beds. The cabin was well equipped with everything we needed. The location is great for fishing on traders bay. We used a public access that was less that 1/2 down the road. It was a little hidden but we found it and it worked well for us. You can also use the access at Shore Point Resort but it’s $10.00 per day/per vehicle. The advantage of the Shore Point access is that they have plowed roads that go in all sorts of directions. The public access that we found did not have any plowed roads but there were several tired tracks that we followed and we were easily able to get to Greg’s Break and to the top of the point. It may not have been accessible if we had a lot of snow but luckily we had no issues with that. Although the fishing wasn’t great, we really enjoyed our time here and will definitely be staying again next year. Thank you so much for sharing your cabin with us! Trever”

Stayed: January , 2016  Submitted: February 04, 2016

AWESOME!!!!!  

Sabrina S.

“Thank you Rick for having such a beautiful place, we enjoyed every minute of it, we hope to rent it again sometime, maybe in the summer months. It was so relaxing and we are thankful that you allow pets, our little Charlie loved it as well, you have a beautiful view of the lake. thanks again!!! It ws everything you said and more, all of your instructions were perfect”

Stayed: December , 2015  Submitted: January 11, 2016

Winter Solitude  

Tom Lakeville MN

“I have stayed here on three different occasions. (All in the Winter) The peace and tranquility is second to none. The cabin has been as been found to be exactly as advertised. The fish cleaning station in the basement is an added bonus! The cleanliness of the cabin is always appreciated. It is nice to now I have no worries if I choose to stay at Loon Lodge again. Thanks Rick”

Stayed: February , 2015  Submitted: January 04, 2016
Recommended for: Adventure seekers

Excellent stay  

Raymond & Ursula D.

“We stayed three nights over the Thanksgiving holiday in 2015. The weather was cold, but clear and the lake was open. When the sun shined on the lake it was absolutely beautiful. The many windows facing the lake provided a great view from the living room, kitchen, and dining room. Everything in the cabin worked perfectly and we especially enjoyed the wood burning stove in the living room. You may be skeptical but it really does heat the entire living space. The furniture was comfortable and the beds were adequate. My wife loved the shower water pressure and plenty of hot water even with four of us staying. Overall it was a great stay and we would highly recommend this property. We ate the Thanksgiving meal at Northern Lights Casino Event Center where they had a buffet. The food was really good, but the table service not so much. We also ate at Cafe Zona Rosa in Walker and had a wonderful meal there. My wife enjoyed the shops in Walker and I went into Reeds Sporting Goods and was amazed at the size and variety of products. I could have spent A LOT of money in there, and settled for an ice fishing auger and a few lures.”

Stayed: November , 2015  Submitted: December 01, 2015

Great cabin with a great setting  

Reece B.

“This cabin is a gem of a property. We spent a week up in the walker area deer hunting and it was a pleasure to come back to this cabin every night. This cabin is meticulously cared for and shows pride of ownership. From the time we walked in to the time we left, this place did not leave us wanting. Thanks to Rick for sharing this place and being a fantastic host. I would highly recommend staying here. The setting of the cabin is every bit as nice as the cabin itself.

Thanks again, Reece and Michelle, Randy, Ed – November 2015″

Stayed: November , 2015  Submitted: November 18, 2015

Loon Lodge getaway  

Thomas J.

“Everything you could ask for. Clean, modern, private, quiet and reasonably priced. All you need to bring is the food and fun! You can’t go wrong with this rental. Thanks Rick!!”

Stayed: November , 2015  Submitted: November 07, 2015
Recommended for: Families with young children, Girls getaway, Age 55+, Families with teenagers, Romantic getaway, Tourists without a car

Fishing buddies  

Dale H.

“We rented Loon Lodge for a fishing trip with some old friends. I can’t think of a suggestion for improving this place. Rick was very responsive to emails, the place was spotless clean with drawers labeled and everything we needed inside. The beach was terrific as was the dock and boat lift. It was great at the end of the day to pull the boat on the lift and know that it wasn’t going to be bashed against the dock all night long. (light duty lift however) The view from the deck and from inside was great. I will be back.”

Stayed: September , 2015  Submitted: October 06, 2015
Recommended for: Families with young children, Age 55+, Families with teenagers, Romantic getaway

Loon Lodge  

Anonymous

• Beach was excellent and ability to have our boats on dock made our stay excellent. The kids were able to swim and go tubing every day as the weather was great.
• Kitchen was well stocked with kettles, dishes etc. stove / oven worked well.
• Refrigerator was large and ice appreciated
• Loved the ability to wash and dry clothes
• Bedrooms are large and accommodating.
• Loved ability to house our car in the garage
• Deck off the kitchen was well used and great to eat at when the kids were in swimming gear so they didn’t have to come into the house.
• Ability to have our dog there was great. He loved the lake and had a great stay too.
• Fire pit was great; extra lawn chairs appreciated.
• Loons and other bird life were fun to watch would recommend for family of 5 to 8

Stayed: August , 2015  Submitted: September 05, 2016

Family Vacation  

Kacie Minnesota

“We had such a wonderful week at Loon Lodge! Clean, very well maintained property with beautiful views and an absolutely perfect sandy beach. It was a perfect spot for our family vacation! And we only had to take the boat out about 500 feet from the dock for great fishing! We’re already booked for next year! Highly recommended this wonderful spot!”

Stayed: June , 2015  Submitted: June 30, 2015
Recommended for: Families with young children, Pet owners

The best  

Barbara K. Minocqua, WI

“This vacation home is one the nicest homes we have rented. Very nice clean and has more ammenties you would ever expect. Rick you have a very nice place and we will be back. Thank you”

Stayed: June , 2015  Submitted: June 13, 2016

Relaxing Easter Weekend  

Adam D.

“This cabin was the perfect spot for a weekend getaway with a small group of friends. The weather was still freezing but not quite cold enough for ice fishing, so we settled on spending lots of time in front of the wood fireplace inside. Thanks!”

Stayed: April , 2015  Submitted: April 16, 2015
Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Age 55+, Families with teenagers, Pet owners, Adventure seekers, Romantic getaway

Great MN vacation stay!  

Anonymous

“Beautiful view of Leech Lake! The sunrises were amazing! Stayed here with my 7 & 8 year old daughters and 10 & 12 year old nieces and we had a great girls weekend! This place was very clean and lots of space. Kitchen is fully stocked with cookware/dinnerware, the master shower head is awesome, great water pressure and hot water, easy access to the lake. The girls liked walking on the ice on Leech Lake and collecting shells at the shore. Plenty of firewood in the backyard for bonfires. An hour drive to Itasca State Park where you can walk across the Mississippi Headwaters- a must-do! About a 15 min drive to DT Walker to get groceries, go to some neat local shops and we were able to pay $5 to go swim in the pool at Chase on the Lake. Would highly recommend staying at this rental and would stay here again! Thank you to the owners. :)”

Stayed: March , 2015  Submitted: April 13, 2015

The McGuire’s  

Mac Appleton WI

“Enjoyed our 4 day 3 night Family Ice Fishing Vacation at Loon Lodge”

Stayed: March , 2015  Submitted: March 11, 2015

The McGuire’s Enjoyed our 4 day 3 night Family Ice Fishing Vacation at Loon Lodge  

Mac Appleton WI

“Comfortable, Clean home with an eastern view to the beautiful sunrise over Leech Lake. Communication to the property was perfect.”

Stayed: March , 2015  Submitted: March 10, 2015
Recommended for: Families with young children, Age 55+

Great as always  

JJB Rogers, MN

“Great as always  Clean, great location.   Awesome for an ice fishing weekend.”

Stayed: February , 2015  Submitted: February 25, 2015
Recommended for: Families with young children, Pet owners

Fishing Trip  

Erik J.

“The house was great! It has a great location with easy access to the lake. We had a fabulous three day ice fishing getaway.”

Stayed: March , 2015  Submitted: March 07, 2015
Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Pet owners, Adventure seekers, Romantic getaway

Sure beats staying at a hotel  

Josette K. Finlayson, MN

“My husband and I recently spent 3 nights at Loon Lodge with another couple for our annual winter get-away. Since we like to be able to prepare our own meals and relax with each other, staying at a house is the only way to go. We also planned to do some ice-fishing, so being situated right on Leech Lake was perfect for putting some tip-ups out. Unfortunately, no luck there, but a little better luck in the fish house we rented through Leisure Outdoor Adventures in Walker. We all agreed the house was a great choice: comfortable, clean, no odors, beautiful view onto the lake, no problems whatsoever. I was concerned at one point though when the dishwasher was still running nearly 3 hours after I started it. Luckily the manuals to appliances are kept in a kitchen drawer, and it stated this was how long a cycle would last for energy-saving. Note, there is a one hour feature on it, too. Wouldn’t hesitate for a minute to stay here again! And thanks Rick and Nina for responding promptly to questions!”

Stayed: February , 2015  Submitted: February 06, 2015
Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Age 55+, Families with teenagers, Pet owners, Adventure seekers, Romantic getaway

Annual ice fishing trip  

Todd Brooklyn Park

“2nd time coming to the Loon Lodge and we were not disappointed. Home was clean and well stocked with pots/pans/dishes needed to prepare all our food. Would have been nice to have a map of the lake showing where the fish were biting but we did okay anyhow. :)”

Stayed: February , 2015  Submitted: February 16, 2015

Ice Fishing  

Brian M,

“We stayed at the Loon Lodge the last week of January (like we have for the last 5 yrs) and as usual the place was spectacular! Every thing is always clean and up to date. The addition of the dishwasher was an added bonus. We’ll be back again and would highly recommend it .”

Stayed: January , 2015  Submitted: January 31, 2015

Another great stay at Loon Lodge  

Jim Andover, MN

“We have stayed here at Loon Lodge a couple of times and we have never been disappointed. Home is always clean and ready for us upon arrival. Nothing but good to say, kitchen is well stocked and the home is nicely furnished. Planning on coming back again.”

Stayed: January , 2015  Submitted: January 26, 2015

nice getaway  

Janel H.

 

“We stayed for 4 days. It was a fun time. Nice home right on the lake, no stairs to get to lake was great. Nice sandy swim area if its warm enough. Huge garage to park boat and 2 other vehicles in. We would stay at loon lodge again. Thank you”

Stayed: September , 2014  Submitted: September 25, 2014
Recommended for: Families with young children, Girls getaway, Age 55+, Families with teenagers

Home away from home  

Chao

My group and I arrived on the 7th of March and reserved the cabin for the weekend for a guys fishing trip. Upon arriving, we walked in and did not expect the place to be as big as it would be for the price we paid for. Everything in the cabin was clean, there was more than enough space for the eight of us, and even some personal hygiene supplies were supplied.

Even though we did not stay in the cabin as much as we had liked to, I think this cabin would make a good place to stay whether for fall, winter, spring, or summer. Located next to Leech lake and not too far from town, it made it easy for our group to travel around the lake.

I did not get to thank Rick and Liz for allowing my group to stay at their cabin, but I am thankful for them doing so. Will most likely be renting again in the future if my group decides to come back up. Thanks again!

Stayed: March , 2014  Submitted: March 27, 2014
Recommended for: Families with young children, Age 55+, Families with teenagers, Adventure seekers, Romantic getaway

Steve, Pam, family  

Steve, United States

“My family of six adults, three grandkids, and our golden retreivers all had a perfect week at Loon Lodge. The description was of property was very accurate. The cabin was clean and the beds were very comfortable. The beach is the best I’ve seen, and the water is very clear and clean. Fishing was great too. We got to use the cast Iron pans we brought, for walleye dinner over the fire pit! The weather was also perfect every day. Thanks Rick for the unforgetable week we had at your cabin!”

Stayed: June , 2013  Submitted: June 04, 2014
Recommended for: Families with young children, Girls getaway, Age 55+, Families with teenagers, Pet owners, Adventure seekers, Romantic getaway

Ice fisherman  

fisherking st.paul

“This place was as comfortable as my living room, great views. The open design lends itself to family style living and continues engagement no matter the fuction ! I would return without hesitation.”

Stayed: March , 2013  Submitted: March 07, 2013
Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Age 55+, Families with teenagers, Pet owners, Adventure seekers, Romantic getaway

We’ll be back!!  

Lance Beaver Dam, WI

“Thanks for letting us stay at your cottage. It’s great, we had so much fun last year we came back this year for eelpout fest followed by a week of fishing. We’re setting up next years week already. It’s perfect after a day on the ice we can pull out of the weather into your garage to sort out all our frozen sleds. We also enjoy your inside cleaning table. It;s a lot warmer than the tailgate, like we used to do until we found your cottage. It’s great to relax in front of the fire with a couple beers and spread the BS. It has been very clean and comfortable, very easy to prepare meals also.”

Stayed: February , 2013  Submitted: February 28, 2013
Recommended for: Families with young children, Families with teenagers, Romantic getaway

stranded in the snow!!!  

Leanne N.

“The most wonderful “vacation home” we could have wished for!!! Relaxation was our request and we certainly got it!!!! We got between 18″ and 20″ of snow from Saturday evening through Monday…so we were in the lodge with our crock potato soup; spaghetti and other comfort foods. We had friends over on Tuesday for crock pot stew and then we made home made peanut butter fudge…MMMMMMMMMMM good! We went ice fishing Tuesday and Wednesday mornings. I caught 5 great northern, two crappie and a small mouth bass…..my boy friend said I was chewing tobacco and spitting on the minnows! 🙂 We brought our Golden Retriever with us and she had a fantastic time running through the snow drifts and going fishing with us. Again, couldn’t have asked for a better place to stay. The home is beautifully decorated without going overboard and just plain comfortable. The property managers were very friendly as well. Thank you, Rick and family for a restful place.”

Stayed: February , 2013  Submitted: February 23, 2013
Recommended for: Girls getaway, Age 55+, Pet owners, Romantic getaway

Our new Vacation destination  

Leech Lake Lovers Blaine MN

“This was our first trip to Loon Lodge, but we have vacationed on Leech Lake many times.The King sized bed was far and above the beds in the resorts we have stayed in. Most resorts are charging for luxury accomodations, but offer small beds, uncomfortable furniture. This was like Home!Beautiful yard and beach, privacy, plus you are in a perfect location to fish both sides of the lake- Walker Bay or the main lake via the Roseveltte Channel. The boat lift was a treat -after years of having my boat rubbed and banged in a resort marina, I had my own lift!Our family had a great week and we immediately booked the week for 2013- See ya next year!Everything we had hoped for!”

Stayed: September , 2012  Submitted: December 22, 2012
Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Age 55+, Families with teenagers, Pet owners, Adventure seekers, Romantic getaway

Great Vacation Spot!  

Lisa Elk River, MN

“We loved our stay here! The home was beautiful and the view was amazing! My husband and I stayed here with our 2 year old (almost 3) and our 4 month old boys. They LOVED it! A GREAT family vacation spot, would highly recommend staying here!”

Stayed: November , 2012  Submitted: November 30, 2012
Recommended for: Families with young children, Romantic getaway

Crafter’s beware, stay at the Lodge if you want to accomplish something  

Dawn Edgerton, MN

“What an awsome place. The sunrises were beautiful and the loons, an added delight. The trees were in full fall colors. Will definetely stay again. Walker is full of things to see, places to shop, and places to eat. We ate at Zona Rosa’s and the Ranch House. Both, a must. The Itasca State Park was impressive.”

Stayed: October , 2012  Submitted: October 16, 2012
Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Age 55+, Families with teenagers, Adventure seekers, Romantic getaway

Great 4th of July Week  

Sandy Hartford, SD

“We spent the July 4th week at Loon Lodge on Leech lake. We had a wonderful time. The 3 grandkids were in the water by 10 a.m. each day and we had to drag them out for dinner. The cabin was great, everything you need is provided. The beach is sand as far as your toes can reach. Would love to come back next summer.”

Stayed: June , 2012  Submitted: July 04, 2012
Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Age 55+, Families with teenagers, Pet owners, Romantic getaway

Loon Lodge – Weekend with Freinds  

JJ Blaine, MN

“We’ve been going to Leech for years, instead of the resorts this year, we gave the private cabin a try. This is a beautiful home. 3 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, not like anything we’ve had at a resort… ever! The house is very comfortable, clean, and well maintained. The weatherman didn’t cooperate very well, but, we took the short drive to walker for a pizza & beers at Bensons while it was raining. Caught a few fish, and had a great time with friends over the long weekend. (Not long enough!) For dining choices in Walker, we really enjoyed the Ranch House, and Charlies. I’d highly recommend this property winter or summer to anyone thinking about staying at Leech for a few days!”

Stayed: May , 2012  Submitted: May 30, 2012
Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Age 55+, Families with teenagers

Girl’s Scrapbooking Adventure  

Sandy Jesup, IA

“What a wonderful girl’s getaway we had at your lovely Loon Lodge! I knew it was going to be awesome because my husband and I have stayed here before as guests of our friend’s that have rented your home in the past. But I didn’t realize how much fun we would have using your new scrapbooking/craft room – it was GREAT! I think the thing I enjoyed the most, as far as the craft room, is the comfortable chairs you’ve provided. I’ve been to several retreats and yours is by far the most comfortable! Can’t say enough about the lighting, workspace, outlets and even a room size heater was there, which we needed and used! We made several trips to Walker for shopping and eating since we decided early on there would be NO cooking! Love The Villager pizza, Sunday brunch at Chase on the Lake and of course Boulders. They have the BEST appetizer – Hot Crab and Artichoke Dip with warm pita bread! This was a vacation that none of us will forget – we had so much fun and made a lot of good memories! Thanks so much for the chance to stay at Loon Lodge – it’s an awesome place!”

Stayed: April , 2012  Submitted: May 11, 2012
Recommended for: Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Pet owners, Adventure seekers, Romantic getaway

Girls’ Scrapbooking Retreat  

Jan Cedar Falls, Iowa

“We had a GREAT time at Loon Lodge for our scrapbooking/crafting get-a-way. The craft room was excellent – great lighting, plenty of tables and best of all first class chairs! There were only four of us but there was plenty of room for a few more. The kitchen was very nice but we chose to be lazy and not cook so took a quick drive into Walker for dinner each night. The home was very clean and the beds were comfortable. The location was very nice and we had no concerns about safety. I would recommend this to anyone and I can’t wait to go back again!”

Stayed: April , 2012  Submitted: May 01, 2012
Recommended for: Families with young children, Girls getaway, Age 55+, Families with teenagers

Scrappin’ & Yappin’ Weekend  

Jerry & Elaine Neuendorf Denver, IA

“Our Scrappin’ and Yappin’ group (4 of us) had a great trip to Loon Lodge. We spent 3 days scrapbooking, making cards and stitching. We took breaks and went into town to eat each evening. The highlights for us was the grouper at Boulders, brunch at Chase on the Lake and pizza on the patio at the Villager when the temps hit 70 degrees! In the shopping category, Christmas Point was a big hit! They expanded their store over the winter and it is awesome! We felt good about the projects we completed, and we had a good mix of crafting, shopping, eating and laughing!

Rick has done a great job with the craft room. Between the four of us, we filled the back of a pickup with all of our scrapbooking/cardmaking supplies! The chairs are really comfortable and there is plenty of table space for spreading out and working on your projects. We appreciated the heater in the room to take the chill off in the mornings and evenings. The track lighting is good because you can direct it where you need it. We set up a computer, printer and Cricut at one end of the room away from our work space. There are plenty of outlets for all the equipment. I would definitely recommend Loon Lodge for a girls getaway to do some scrapbooking/cardmaking and other crafts!

My husband and I have been to Loon Lodge several times over the years. This is the first time I have gone without him and he was very jealous! We love Leech Lake and the Walker area. Rick’s house accommodates families and/or a bunch of girls well. The best part is the view – it is amazing!”

Stayed: April , 2012  Submitted: April 30, 2012
Recommended for: Families with young children, Girls getaway, Age 55+, Families with teenagers, Pet owners, Adventure seekers, Romantic getaway

scrappin’ & yappin’ vacation  

Nancy T. Waterloo, Iowa

“This was one of the best vacations I have ever been on. I LOVE Leech Lake and staying at Loon Lodge was fabulous! I really enjoyed all the great restuarants we ate at in Walker and the wonderful shopping there too, but the best part of this vacation was staying at this lovely home with the beautiful lake view right out your window! I would totally recommend Loon Lodge for a scrapbooking/crafting retreat. The craft room was large, had great lighting, really comfortable chairs, plenty of outlets and it was great leaving our projects in process and ready to go the next day! I had such a great time!”

Stayed: April , 2016  Submitted: April 30, 2012
Recommended for: Families with young children, Girls getaway, Age 55+

Ice Fishing Get Away  

Frank & Nance Burlington, WI

“Everything went smoothly from start to finish. We arrived shortly after the scheduled check in time to find our “home away from home” clean and inviting. As we unpacked our belongings and filled the cabin with enough food, clothing and ice fishing supplies to last our stay we were pleased to find the pictures a true representation of the accommodations. After checking out the great view from the living room window we decided to hit the lake for a sneak preview. Our stay included several successful fishing holes, only 1 trip to town for more bait and cozy nights watching TV and eating popcorn. The garage was very helpful. It allowed us to have the 4 wheeler and sled ready to go. And that is just what we did. Out to the ice at daybreak, a short indoor rest then back to fishing. The fish cleaning set up in the basement was a big plus. While 1 of us cleaned the days catch the other got dinner on. It helped that the weather cooperated. One small stint of rain but otherwise sunny and unseasonably warm, perfect for being out on the ice. We hope to return and possibly bring along some family or friends. We certainly enjoyed the peace and quiet but since the cabin had 2 bedrooms that went unused it might be fun to have a few others join us.”

Stayed: March , 2012  Submitted: April 06, 2012
Recommended for: Families with young children, Age 55+, Romantic getaway

Super summer or fall get away  

Tom twin cities

“We have now rented Loon lodge numerous times and our experience has alwaysbeen fantastic. Perfect beach, great access, view of the big lake, fishing, and great lodging give you everything you need for a great family vacation.”

Stayed: July , 2011  Submitted: February 11, 2012
Recommended for: Families with young children, Girls getaway, Age 55+, Families with teenagers, Pet owners, Romantic getaway, Tourists without a car

Ice Fishing Trip @ Leech Lake  

Terry Crown Point, IN

“Very enjoyable to be able to spread out in a spacious home to fish, warm up, eat and rest … This trip felt like a vacation should!”

Stayed: February , 2012  Submitted: February 13, 2012
Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Age 55+, Families with teenagers

Karmen Uecker  

Karmen1 Hutchinson

“This place up north is a wonderful peace of heaven on earth. It is a great place for the whole family. This is the 3rd year of our family of 8, enjoyed this wonderful place.There is lots of great places to eat in the area. We all eat at Charlie’s when we are up there. Are mission is Family time. And we get lots of that. We play card games and Watch movies. Do some fishing. It is just a great wonderful place to stay. And we always get great deals. In our family’s opinion you can’t get a better place, just to relax and do whatever you want.”

Stayed: February , 2012  Submitted: February 07, 2012
Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Age 55+, Families with teenagers, Pet owners, Adventure seekers, Romantic getaway, People with disabilities, Tourists without a car

Fall Get Away  

Sandy Hartford, SD

“We had a wonderful fall get away in October. The fall colors were beautiful. Sun rises and sun sets were a great site over the water. Everything that is stated and pictured on the web site regarding this property is exactly what you get. The house was extremely clean and everything you need is provided. We have already booked a week in July of 2012 and are looking forward to that week!”

Stayed: October , 2011  Submitted: October 14, 2011
Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Age 55+, Families with teenagers, Pet owners, Romantic getaway

bernbo@yahoo.com  

jacqui st michael

“Had a wonderful week at a wonderful location. The house was beautiful, so clean and neat, the view was fabulous and had plenty of room”

Stayed: September , 2011  Submitted: October 06, 2011
Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Age 55+, Families with teenagers, Adventure seekers, Romantic getaway

Picture Perfect  

Clint Minnetrista, MN

“I had never used VRBO before, yet the description inticed me to do so. I’m so happy I did. The cabin [house really] is better than described. Clean and new with a stunning view of Leech Lake. “

Stayed: May , 2011  Submitted: September 19, 2011
Recommended for: Families with young children, Girls getaway, Families with teenagers, Romantic getaway

Where do we begin…  

Northwoods Junkies Des Moines, Iowa, USA

“We were fortunate to find Loon Lodge using the VRBO web site in March this year. We made a couple of inquiries and received an owner response almost immediately. Our decision was made to reserve Loon Lodge based solely on the amazing information and photos on the web site, plus, the virtual tour provided by the owners. We anticipated a restful week from August 27 to September 2 and couldn’t have asked for more. We were so familiar with Loon Lodge by looking at the web site photos that we felt at home immediately. Everything we needed was available, entry instructions were flawless and the facility had just been cleaned before we arrived. An added benefit was Brindley’s Harbor Resort just down the road that provided us a launch for our boat. The weather cooperated, the fishing just inside Traders Bay satified our obsession and touring the shops in Walker definitely passed the time on the rainy days. We wholeheartedy recommend Loon Lodge to anyone who enjoys time spent fishing and relaxing among the pines in the north woods of Minnesota. We’ll be back…”

Stayed: August , 2011  Submitted: September 19, 2011
Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Age 55+, Families with teenagers, Pet owners, Romantic getaway

The Thurm Family  

Tracy & Al Denver, Iowa

“We had a GREAT time!! Beautiful view and very relaxing. Can’t wait to go back!!”

Stayed: September , 2011  Submitted: September 18, 2011
Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Age 55+, Families with teenagers, Pet owners, Romantic getaway

A little piece of heaven  

AVfamily Apple Valley

“Wonderful, peaceful spot on Leech Lake. This was our 3rd stay and it has become one of our favorite places to spend some time together as a family. The cabin is absolutely perfect and we love the privacy of Traders Bay along with the proximity to Walker. Can’t wait to go back!”

Stayed: August , 2011  Submitted: August 21, 2011
Recommended for: Families with young children, Girls getaway, Age 55+, Families with teenagers, Pet owners, Romantic getaway

Great Getaway!  

Emily Red Lake Falls, MN

“We had a wonderful week at this beautiful home on Leech Lake! The house was exactly as I expected and was beautiful. The beach was great and the kids played in the sand and the water the entire time. The water gradually gets deeper so great for kids of all ages. We loved being able to use the boat lift and really enjoyed ourselves. We had a great time and plan to do this again soon!”

Stayed: July , 2011  Submitted: August 19, 2011
Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Age 55+, Families with teenagers, Pet owners, Adventure seekers, Romantic getaway

Most Excellent!!!  

Jim IGH MN USA

“Had great time staying at Loon Lodge. Everything as advertised. Hassle free, easy way to enjoy time at a fantastic lake. Owner very easy to do business with, answers all questions, first class all the way. Recommend this to everybody from families, friends, relatives and fishermen. Will be back next year.”

Stayed: May , 2011  Submitted: June 19, 2011
Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Age 55+, Families with teenagers, Pet owners, Adventure seekers

favorite activity and amenity ,leech lake home  

rusty detriot lakes mn

“I personally love ice fishing and Leech lake is a great place for many types of species,and to come back to your beautiful home and fry up the days catch,sit by the warm fire was heaven,I certainly hope to do it again,absolutly loved it up there,you folks are lucky to have such a fantastic place.One of the many fine amenities of your home are the windows to the lake,a beautiful view tops my list! Thanks again for allowing us to enjoy if only for a short time the wonderful place on Leech Lake.”

Stayed: March , 2011  Submitted: March 28, 2011
Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Age 55+, Families with teenagers, Adventure seekers, Romantic getaway, People with disabilities

Excellent vacation property! Enjoyed every aspect of it.  

Mike Lake Elmo, MN

“Our family stayed in this great vacation property last summer for a week and had a great time. Our favorite activity was of course fishing on Leech Lake, but we also enjoyed swimming, tubing, shopping, golfing and just plain relaxing! Our favorite feature of this home is the wonderful beach! Easy access to the lake and quiet location are good features. The home is well kept and we enjoyed sitting on the deck in the quiet evenings to look out over the lake. We hope to be back!”

Stayed: June , 2010  Submitted: March 28, 2011
Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Age 55+, Families with teenagers

Ice fishing adventure  

Dale Atanta

“Great facility and we had good fishing until weather went bad. Suggestion would be making more room for fish cleaning in basement for ice fishing .”

Stayed: March , 2011  Submitted: March 28, 2011
Recommended for: Families with young children

Little Piece of Heaven  

Karmen1 Hutchinson

“My whole family just loves this little piece of heaven on earth. It is big enough for our whole family and my mom’s dog too. Family time is so important to all of us. We were not going to go this year, after losing my husband to cancer in December at the young age of 48. Well we decided to go and It was just what the whole family needed. We shared a lot of great memories and had a lot of laughs. We have went for two winters now and decided we are going to do this every year. The Family loves to Ice fish, we haven’t had much luck, but fun doing it. We go out to eat at Charlie’s on Saturday nights up there and that is just a great place to eat. Thanks so much for sharing your little piece of heaven on earth and we will be back. Thanks Karmen from Hutchinson”

Stayed: February , 2011  Submitted: March 26, 2011
Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Age 55+, Families with teenagers, Pet owners, Adventure seekers, Romantic getaway

Great Family Fun!  

Jim Fairmont, MN

“Great location, very clean and well maintained, super beach for the grandkids, nice dock and boatlift, perfect spot for a family get-a-way!….I’ll be back!”

Stayed: June , 2010  Submitted: March 25, 2011
Recommended for: Families with young children, Age 55+, Families with teenagers, Pet owners, Romantic getaway

Fantastic Fishing Fun For Family And Friends  

Mr. Outdoors Chaska ,MN

“I go fishing up at leech lake as often as I can the lake has excellent walleye and perch fishing that keeps everyone in the boat busy. I recently had the privilege of staying at the loon lodge this last winter for my first time . My friends and I went up for a weekend ice fishing trip, although we knew going into the weekend the weather was not going to be ideal for ice fishing we were still very excited to stay at the cabin. With temperatures around -20 below wind chill we had a lot of fun on the lake and as much fun in the cabin .This cabin is truly a bargain for all times of the year it is as beautiful as rick had described and more . I will be returning soon for my next fishing trip.”

Stayed: March , 2011  Submitted: March 24, 2011
Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Age 55+, Families with teenagers, Romantic getaway

A Little Piece of Heaven  

Jerry & Elaine Neuendorf Denver, IA

“We love staying at Rick’s “little piece of heaven”. Without a doubt, Jerry’s favorite thing is the ability to walk out the door, jump in the boat and go fishing whenever he wants (morning, noon and night). We usually go in the spring and fall for extended periods so we like to pretend it is our lake home (we have even become friends with the neighbors :). My girlfriend and I love “scrapbooking with a view” while the guys are fishing. We also love going for walks and taking in the “up north” views and wildlife. Our favorite thing to do in the Walker area is take the boat for spin around the lake checking out all the beautiful homes and end up at Chase on the Lake for drinks and appetizers on their patio. When the weather isn’t cooperating we drive into Walker and have dinner at either Boulders or Chase on the Lake. I usually have to take a drive to Nisswa/Pequot Lakes and check out all the shops. So much to do and so little time. Thanks, Rick, for sharing your little piece of heaven with us!”

Stayed: September , 2009  Submitted: March 22, 2011
Recommended for: Families with young children, Girls getaway, Age 55+, Pet owners

Great Weekend  

Todd Eden Prairie, MN

“We had a wonderful time during our stay. The weather was not the best, but the lodge was beautiful and cozy. Fishing was ok, but it was just nice to be on the lake.”

Stayed: September , 2010  Submitted: March 22, 2011
Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Age 55+, Families with teenagers, Adventure seekers, Romantic getaway, People with disabilities

The memories at this property will be with our family forever  

Paul W. Edina

“Incredible views, incredible beach, close to quaint town of Walker. This is a great property for a family or just a couple getting away. We love the simple access to the launch to put our boat in (which has fuel and treats for the kids) and then to the boat every day just outside the door. You can boat or take the quick drive to walker, use free docks, and walk to several fun restaurants. Great evening sunset trip. We visited over fourth of July last year and the fireworks and “hometown Americana” environment was cool and the fireworks show as good as any we’ve seen! No wonder we have gone back to this property more than once!”

Stayed: July , 2010  Submitted: March 22, 2011
Recommended for: Families with young children, Families with teenagers, Pet owners, Romantic getaway

Best Swimming Beach and Excellent Fishing!  

Tom twin cities

“Ricks home on Leech Lake has the best sandy beach for swimming, not to mention the fishing in Leech is excellent! We love the that there are many different activities that we all can enjoy like great biking and hiking trails, wonderful restaurants and fun shopping. The town of Walker offers everything that one would need and then goes beyond with the extras including fresh vegetable stands and ice cream shops. The home is so clean and comfortable. Rick is always more than helpful from the time you schedule your stay until the moment you leave. We have recommended the property to many people. They know that we are very familiar with the area since we have been coming to Leech Lake for 20 years. Leach lake is a fantastic vacation destination and Loon Lodge lets you make the most of your experience.”

Stayed: July , 2010  Submitted: March 10, 2011
Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Age 55+, Families with teenagers, Pet owners

Fishing in Walker  

Fishing Chimp Anoka, MN

“My favorite thing to do in and around walker is fish. There are so many beautiful and wonderful lakes which make any trip there worthwhile. This cabin helped make fishing on Leech even more enjoyable!

The wood burning fireplace was our favorite amenity, and was an absolutely wonderful to cozy up to after a cool night on the water.”

Stayed: October , 2009  Submitted: March 13, 2011
Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Age 55+, Adventure seekers, Romantic getaway

Loon Lodge  

Dave Pisgah, IA

“6-7 guys stayed three days in January 2010. Beautiful home and garage. Wood was split and ready for the woodburning fireplace. It was our first time there, so it took a couple of days to find the fish, but then WE ROCKED. Threw back alot of whitefish until the locals told us they were good!! Thanks for a great time. Be back in ’11. (Tight lines)”

Stayed: January , 2010  Submitted: November 30, 2010
Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Age 55+, Families with teenagers, Pet owners, Adventure seekers, Romantic getaway

Our Family had a wonderful…  

Karmen1 Hutchinson

“Our Family had a wonderful time at this little piece of heaven. We will for sure do it again. We get together every year in the winter and this was perfect. It is a must see and do. Thanks for sharing your piece of heaven.”

Stayed: February , 2010  Submitted: February 14, 2010

Everything was 100% perfect  

Clark Scherer1 Becker MN

Everything was 100% perfect couldn’t find a better place. You may direct anyone you like to me for a testimonial.

Stayed: January , 2010  Submitted: January 24, 2010

Loon Lodge – what a beautiful place  

Anonymous Arden Hills, MN

“Loon Lodge – what a beautiful place. We spent three nights here (August 27th – 30th) and loved it. The place has a gorgeous beach. There was no swimming for us because it was too cold during our stay to do that. We did a lot of walking, fishing, and visiting of nearby cities. Loon Lodge is a perfect place for two families to rent and split costs. We will recommend this place to our friends and family.We hope to come back next year and stay longer than this time. Thanks!”

Stayed: September , 2009  Submitted: September 07, 2009

We had a fantastic week  

Nancy Huizenga St Paul, MN

“We had a fantastic week at Loon Lodge. Our daughter loved the sandy beach; she spent many an hour building sandcastles and wading the shoreline “hunting minnows” The cabin was very comfortable and exceptionally clean. We especially enjoyed breakfast on the deck and bonfires at night. We were fortunate to have fantastic weather the entire week but not so lucky with fishing-only caught 1 fish! Thank you for sharing Loon Lodge with us!”

Stayed: September , 2009  Submitted: September 02, 2009

8-1 thru 8-8-09 We just want to say “thank you”  

The Behnke's of St. Louis Park, MN

“8-1 thru 8-8-09 We just want to say “thank you” for sharing your beautiful home with us last week. Everything was perfect! The beach is the best we have experienced, the bay is terrific on a windy NW wind day and the house was perfect for the 6 of us. The walleye fishing was great with 6 over 23″, which were returned for others to enjoy, plus the keepers that provided a great meal. Relax.. sit by the fire at night and listen to the wonderful sounds including the soothing calls of our state bird and those memories of the office will quickly fade. We will see you in August of 2010

Stayed: August , 2009  Submitted: August 11, 2009

Thanks Rick and family  

barb bolin

“Thanks Rick and family for the use of your home! Everything was very clean and well-maintained. The beach is one of the best!”

Stayed: July , 2009  Submitted: July 19, 2009

We loved your cabin!!!  

Grace & Stuart Lonning

“We loved your cabin!!! Thanks so much for taking such great care to make certain that guests have everything we could possibly need. The view of the lake is so peaceful that it is now the photo on my computer desktop … a constant reminder of the quiet and serenity that we felt while sitting on the deck! Thanks so much … we’ll be back! Grace & Stuart Lonning”

Stayed: July , 2009  Submitted: July 10, 2009

Thanks so very much  

Grace & Stuart Lonning

“Thanks so very much for sharing your cabin with us! We had a fantastic time! We forgot to write in the guest book, so we just wanted you to know how much we enjoyed it, and hope to stay there again in the future! Happy 4th to you! “

Stayed: July , 2009  Submitted: July 06, 2009

June 13-20th 2009  

Joe & Kelly Oakdale,MN

“June 13-20th 2009

Rick,

We could not have asked for anything more. Your cabin was fabulous, and the view of the sunrise was breath taking. This was my first trip with my husband to Leech Lake. And the weather and fishing was were great. Took plenty of pictures, and of course had to show off all my Walleye’s to the Guys at work. So we would just like to say it was a wonderful vacation and Thank You.

Joe & Kelly Oakdale, MN”

Stayed: July , 2009  Submitted: July 02, 2009

The remodel on your home looks wonderful  

Jerry & Elaine Neuendorf Denver, IA

“Rick, The remodel on your home looks wonderful – we thought it was very nice when we stayed there for 5 weeks last fall. Fall was a wonderful time of year to be there. The leaves were gorgeous and Jerry had awesome walleye fishing. We are looking forward to the 3 weeks we will be there this spring and maybe we’ll be lucky enough to be back again in the fall ’09! Thanks for sharing your little piece of heaven with us. We enjoyed every minute of it! Jerry & Elaine Neuendorf”

Stayed: December , 2008  Submitted: December 24, 2008

I really dont think words…  

Anonymous Grand Forks, ND

“I really dont think words could describe how beautiful, and comfortable your home is Rick. From the relaxing deck, the soft sand on the beach, to the relaxing nights by the campfire or just watching a movie on the couch, it was WAY more than what we hoped for. We brought a few things along with us that we thought we would need, but we were wrong. You have every necessity (campfire chairs, firewood, water toys, etc.) to have a weekend complete. I really look forward to staying at your home again. Thank you very, very, much for sharing your home with my family and friends.”

Stayed: May , 2009  Submitted: May 29, 2007

Rick, our families enjoyed staying at your lake  

Natalie Shepherd Forest Lake, MN

“Rick, our families enjoyed staying at your lake home during July and we cannot wait until this year’s vacation as we are coming back!! The beach, swimming and boating on Leech lake was absolutely a blast and the kids, both young and old, enjoyed ourselves. Thanks again for sharing your wonderful home with our family. Thanks again!!”

Stayed: March , 2007  Submitted: March 11, 2007

My family just loved the …  

The Martinsons Hibbing,MN

“My family just loved the cabin. It felt like a home away from home. We loved the fishing and swimming. The sunsets and sunrises were beautiful.We stayed with the Johnson family 8/21/2006. We all had a wonderful time. Would love to come again.”

Stayed: November , 2006  Submitted: November 28, 2006

Thank you for sharing such great place with us  

The Johnson's2 Hibbing, MN

“Rick, My family and I would just like to say Thank you for sharing such great place with us. The fishing and swimming where awesome.”

Stayed: August , 2006  Submitted: August 21, 2006

Latest News at Loon Lodge

Late Summer & Fall Availability for the Loon Lodges

Loon Lodge on Leech Lake A few prime fall color and fishing slots are open… October 12th – 15th (3 night weekend) October 18th or 19th – 22nd (3 or 4 night weekend- MEA!) Click here for more details  …